Search

Home > News > Current
Seminar: Tweeting a coup in Zimbabwe: Social media and the framing of ‘Operation Restore Legacy’
Mon, 06 May 2019 - 14:30

Join us on Tuesday 7 May 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS " Tweeting a coup in Zimbabwe: Social media and the framing of ‘Operation Restore Legacy’

Prof Wasserman awarded "Book of the Year" Prize
Fri, 03 May 2019 - 14:30

Prof Wasserman's book “Media, Geopolitics and Power: A View from the Global South” has been awarded the "book of the year" prize by the Global Communication and Social Change Division of the International Communication Association (ICA).

Seminar: News from Robben Island: Nelson Mandela, Prison Conditions and Censorship
Fri, 26 Apr 2019 - 12:00

Join us on Tuesday 30 April 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "News from Robben Island: Nelson Mandela, Prison Conditions and Censorship".

Seminar: The evolution of South African politics as seen through Twitter
Fri, 05 Apr 2019 - 14:30

Join us on Tuesday 9 April 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "The evolution of South African politics as seen through Twitter"

CFMS Screening: Don't Hide the Madness
Fri, 29 Mar 2019 - 15:00

Join us on Tuesday 2 April 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B to watch Don't Hide the Madness, a CFMS Film Production by Kim Rai. 

CFMS Screening: The Water Dancers
Thu, 21 Mar 2019 - 19:45

Join us on Tuesday 26 March 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B to watch The Water Dancers, a CFMS Film Production awarded "Best Student Film" at SAFTAS

SACOMM 2019
Tue, 12 Mar 2019 - 15:15

UCT is proud to be hosting the annual Sacomm Conference (South African Communications) this year.

CFMS PhD Chikezie Uzuegbunam attends conference at Umeå University in Sweden
Fri, 08 Mar 2019 - 13:15

Chikezie Uzuegbunam (3rd year Media Studies PhD Researcher) is one of the twenty doctoral students selected from around the world who received full funding to participate in a conference held in Sweden at Umeå University " Critical Digital and Social Media Research ".

The Water Dancers wins Best Student Film at SAFTAs
Mon, 04 Mar 2019 - 16:15

The Water Dancers documentary, a CFMS Honours graduation production, has won a South African Film & Television Award for "Best Student Film" at the 13th Annual SAFTA Awards in Sun City.

Seminar: Press Freedom and Human Rights in Angola
Fri, 01 Mar 2019 - 13:30

Join us on Tuesday 5 March 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "Press Freedom and Human Rights in Angola"

Seminar: Lion’s Share. Remaking South African Copyright
Fri, 22 Feb 2019 - 15:45

Join us on Tuesday 26 February 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "Lion’s Share. Remaking South African Copyright".

CFMS’ LGBTQ short film premieres in Hollywood
Tue, 19 Feb 2019 - 16:00

There’s Still Good, the short LGBTQ film from CFMS graduates, will get its international premiere at the TCL Chinese Theater in Hollywood this March.

Pages