Search

Home > News > Current

Current

Current news articles for the Centre for Film and Media Studies.

SACOMM 2019
Tue, 12 Mar 2019 - 15:15

UCT is proud to be hosting the annual Sacomm Conference (South African Communications) this year.

SACOMM 2019
Tue, 12 Mar 2019 - 15:15

UCT is proud to be hosting the annual Sacomm Conference (South African Communications) this year.

Zubeida Jaffer: "The Journalist" as intervention
Sun, 14 May 2017 - 10:00

On Tuesday, 8 May, renowned journalist and UCT alumna Zubeida Jaffer introduced CFMS to the online media initiative The Journalist. Jaffer explained that today’s students are clueless about certain aspects of the anti-apartheid struggle and the role the media played in South Africa’s liberation movement.

Seminar: The evolution of South African politics as seen through Twitter
Fri, 05 Apr 2019 - 14:30

Join us on Tuesday 9 April 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "The evolution of South African politics as seen through Twitter"

CFMS Screening: Don't Hide the Madness
Fri, 29 Mar 2019 - 15:00

Join us on Tuesday 2 April 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B to watch Don't Hide the Madness, a CFMS Film Production by Kim Rai. 

CFMS Screening: The Water Dancers
Thu, 21 Mar 2019 - 19:45

Join us on Tuesday 26 March 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B to watch The Water Dancers, a CFMS Film Production awarded "Best Student Film" at SAFTAS

CFMS PhD Chikezie Uzuegbunam attends conference at Umeå University in Sweden
Fri, 08 Mar 2019 - 13:15

Chikezie Uzuegbunam (3rd year Media Studies PhD Researcher) is one of the twenty doctoral students selected from around the world who received full funding to participate in a conference held in Sweden at Umeå University " Critical Digital and Social Media Research ".

The Water Dancers wins Best Student Film at SAFTAs
Mon, 04 Mar 2019 - 16:15

The Water Dancers documentary, a CFMS Honours graduation production, has won a South African Film & Television Award for "Best Student Film" at the 13th Annual SAFTA Awards in Sun City.

Seminar: Press Freedom and Human Rights in Angola
Fri, 01 Mar 2019 - 13:30

Join us on Tuesday 5 March 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "Press Freedom and Human Rights in Angola"

Seminar: Lion’s Share. Remaking South African Copyright
Fri, 22 Feb 2019 - 15:45

Join us on Tuesday 26 February 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "Lion’s Share. Remaking South African Copyright".

CFMS’ LGBTQ short film premieres in Hollywood
Tue, 19 Feb 2019 - 16:00

There’s Still Good, the short LGBTQ film from CFMS graduates, will get its international premiere at the TCL Chinese Theater in Hollywood this March.

Seminar: Tackling Platform Power: The Politics of Digital Platform Policy
Mon, 18 Feb 2019 - 15:15

Join us on Tuesday 19 February 2019 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4B for a seminar by CFMS "Tackling Platform Power: The Politics of Digital Platform Policy". 

Pages