Search

Home > News > Current

Current

Current news articles for the Centre for Film and Media Studies.

Zubeida Jaffer: "The Journalist" as intervention
Sun, 14 May 2017 - 10:00

On Tuesday, 8 May, renowned journalist and UCT alumna Zubeida Jaffer introduced CFMS to the online media initiative The Journalist. Jaffer explained that today’s students are clueless about certain aspects of the anti-apartheid struggle and the role the media played in South Africa’s liberation movement.

Prof Wasserman receives the Neva Prize from St Petersburg University, Russia
Fri, 23 Nov 2018 - 10:30

Prof Herman Wasserman, Director of the Centre for Film and Media Studies at the University of Cape Town, recently visited the School of Journalism and Mass Communication of St Petersburg State University, Russia.

UCT delegation attending ICAfrica (Ghana) 2018
Thu, 08 Nov 2018 - 21:45

The School of Information and Communication Studies of the University of Ghana, in collaboration with the International Communication Association (ICA) was hosting the 2018 Regional ICA conference on the theme African Digital Cultures: Emerging research, practices and innovations. 

Honours Academic Screening
Tue, 06 Nov 2018 - 15:45

On Friday 26 October 2018, Three Honours CFMS film productions were screened at the New Lecture Theatre, UCT Upper Campus.

Seminar: Why Films Studies Needs More Fine-Grained Emotions Terms... and Why Phenomenology Might Help
Sat, 03 Nov 2018 - 12:30

Join us on Thursday 8 November 2018 at 12H00 in AC Jordan 4A for a seminar by CFMS "Why Films Studies Needs More Fine-Grained Emotions Terms... and Why Phenomenology Might Help". 

Third-year Academic Screening
Thu, 01 Nov 2018 - 21:30

On Saturday 27 October 2018, third-year CFMS film productions were screened at the New Lecture Theatre, UCT Upper Campus.

CFMS Postgraduate Colloquium 2018
Wed, 24 Oct 2018 - 13:00

Join us on Friday 26 October 2018 at 9H00 in AC Jordan 4B for the 2018 CFMS Postgraduate Colloquium.

Seminar: Watching "Date My Family" with a side serving of Twitter: Analysing South African television through social media
Thu, 18 Oct 2018 - 16:45

Join us on Tuesday 23 October 2018 at 13H00 in AC Jordan 4A for a seminar by CFMS "Watching Date My Family with a side serving of Twitter: Analysing South African television through social media"

Book launch: In the Jaws of the Crocodile
Thu, 18 Oct 2018 - 14:15

Join us on Friday 19 October at 18:00 in AC Jordan Room 4A for the launch of In the Jaws of the Crocodile. 

Panel: The state of political journalism in a changing South Africa
Thu, 11 Oct 2018 - 10:15

Join us on Wednesday 17th October 2018 at 16:00 in AC Jordan Room 2F for a panel discussion titled "The state of political journalism in a changing South Africa". 

 

 

Screening: High Fantasy
Thu, 11 Oct 2018 - 10:15

Join us on Friday 19 October 2018 to watch High Fantasy, a South African comedy which was screened in the Discovery section at the 2017 Toronto International Film Festival.

Seminar: Towards a cinematic biography, Ken Gampu on and off the screen
Thu, 11 Oct 2018 - 10:15

Join us on Tuesday 16 October at 13:00 in AC Jordan 4A for a seminar by CFMS "Towards a Cinematic Biography: Ken Gampu on and off the screen"

Pages